Fasten your Seatbelts

We live in a time of rapid change. Think for a moment about how long it took humans to go from drawing pictures on cave walls to inventing papyrus scrolls. And then from the scroll to the book? How long did that jump take? And then from the book to Guttenberg’s printing press, and from the printing press to the telegraph and railroads. What ought to stagger our minds is that we’ve made a jump that significant in just one or two generations! This will only continue. Far from bringing me down this gives me more hope than I have ever had in my whole life. If you believe in God then rejoice with me in what he is doing with his crown of creation! That’s you and me. Y’all remember the pain we sense in the world is likened to a woman giving birth. As a man I cannot fathom what such pain is like in the body. What I can imagine is the joy the parent’s feel when the child is born. God is up to something big everyone. Something so big and so grand that we cannot fully comprehend it. This blog will be an attempt at wrestling with this very unique and exciting period in history.

I like to think of it this way. I imagine a picture of a woman in labor in a hospital. She is everywoman. I imagine she is blue skinned and upon close examination we see she is made up of tiny bits of information. Information that flows through her nervous system and informs everything about her. In the picture she represents the network on which we are currently communicating–which is a fine way of grasping the mystery of human consciousness but more on that some other time. In the picture we see a human hand taking her pulse. That’s what I’m attempting to do here. I’m taking the pulse of the patient. What do I find?

Yes it’s a rough time. Yes there is still darkness. Yes there are some things ahead of us that will be difficult–which has been true in every age of humanity. But none of that is cause for alarm. The patient is pregnant not dying. She awaits a birth. It will come soon. And it will be great.

What will follow will be my attempt at taking that pulse. I’ll be writing about art, science, religion, spirituality, philosophy, economics, politics. In other words everything is fair game.

And since I really want to understand I hope this can develop into a two way conversation. I hope to hear from you. So leave a comment and let’s see where this goes.

2 thoughts on “Fasten your Seatbelts

Leave a Reply

